Users have the possibility to discover the itineraries, getting thorough information on the various attractions and facilities, including prompt and reliable information on the accessibility conditions of all points of interest. This information will be continuously verified and implemented.
The religious route roughly follows a section of the old ways of Pilgrimage of St. James: “Via Vicezia”, along which nowadays also the bike path of the Riviera Berica lays. The route is full of churches, monasteries and hermitages surrounded by a beautiful landscape of natural foothills.
The route, of about 42 km, starts from Vicenza city center, ending in Villaga crossing other 7 municipalities in the south of the city: Longara, Debba, Longare, Castegnero, Nanto, Mossano and Barbarano Vicentino.
The first part leads from the historical centre of the city of Vicenza to the village of Longara, which has many historically and culturally significant religious buildings. This first part of the Riviera Berica is enhanced by the Palladian Villa La Rotonda and Villa Valmarana ai Nani.
The central part of the itinerary is a path through the foothills characterized by a striking landscape of open countryside and vineyards. The route passes through the ancient village of Costozza to reach the village of Lumignano, famous for its limestone walls, a paradise for climbers, and goes on between renowned wineries and cherry orchards.
The final part of the itinerary is full of opportunities for relaxation: from the hermit cave of San Bernardino, through the historic center of Barbarano Vicentino, to the beautiful cloister of the Monastery of San Pancrazio.
Following, the list of the points of interest which visitors can find along the route. You can check here the details of all facilities and attractions or you can use the Intermodal Journey Planner, where it is possible to locate all attractions on an interactive map, and to get information on the points of interest, comprising information on their accessibility features, to choose in autonomy the most suitable facilities and paths, depending on your needs
Tourism points of interest
The Santa Crown complex in Vicenza is one of the most important churches in the city – built in the second half of the 13th century and enriched over the centuries by numerous works of art.
The Church of St. Mary of Mount Berico is a Roman Catholic and minor basilica. The church is a Marian shrine, and stands at the top of a hill which overlooks the city. According to the legend, the Blessed Virgin appeared on the hill twice to a peasant worker: the first time in1426, the second in 1428.
Church dedicated to San Giorgio, built in the fifteenth century, on the site where the castle of Castegnero was previously located. Repeatedly embellished with improvement measures, it owes its present appearance to the restoration carried out in the 19th century.
The winery was founded in 1927 and since then it performs all the manufacturing steps with respect for the land and traditions, from the care of the vineyard, the grape harvest by hand, from fermentation to bottling. Specialties of the cellar are Tai Rosso, Rovea, the Brut Rosé, Tai, Cabernet,Moscato and Pinot.
The church stood on this site since the first centuries of the spread of Christianity and was then rebuilt in 1004 and completed in 1747. It was decorated in 1935. In the niches of the facade there are two statues: St. Peter and St. Paul. Inside there is an 18th century compass and the marble holy water font of Chiampo from 1538; the church contains valuable works, such as a Greek marble sculpture depicting the Madonna and Child Enthroned. On the side of the nave there are six baroque altars. The bell tower, with a square plan, originates from the 13th century.
Designed by Francesco Oliviera around the middle of the sixteenth century, Villa Sangiantofetti-Rigon is the result of a series of renovations and extensions of a building which was one of the many “Dominical Homes” owned by the Traverso family in Barbarano Vicentino. Today, it is private Villa which can be visited on appointment. It has a large garden, a small church and a Portico dedicated to events and weddings.
The house is a former parish asylum from the ’40s, fully restored. It offers hospitality with 10/13 beds and breakfast service buffet. Today is a meeting place for climbers, walkers and hikers offering local dishes accompanied by local wines and craft beers. The property also includes 5 rooms with private bathrooms.
The house is a former parish asylum from the ’40s, fully restored. The property includes 5 rooms with private bathrooms, offering hospitality with 10/13 beds and breakfast service buffet. Today it is a meeting place for climbers, walkers and hikers offering local dishes accompanied by local wines and craft beers.
The origin of the building dates back to 1501, when the community donated to the Congregation of the Franciscans of the hill the site of an earlier church, so that they could build their church and monastery. In 1930 the convent was enlarged and a new wing was built with 38 cells. In 1982 the monastery was also renovated as the new home of the Novitiate. The church houses a terracotta sculpture of the Virgin and Child, valuable work of the late fifteenth century. At the center of the cloister there is the sixteenth-century well, set in a rectangular plan, with interesting reliefs on all four sides.
Tourist information point, bike rental and bar. Along the cycling path there is Bike Point Bericando where you can find maps and tourism information, a bike stand with tools for self-repair; bike rental and bar for refreshments. Bikes for rent include trekking bikes (specific bikes for cycle tourism) and special bicycles such as: tricycle, tandems, hand bikes and e-bikes. For those who prefer an organised experience, it is possible to hire local expert guides to accompany tourists on bikes.